Solo, Part Four: The Cathedral

Day 6

Date: Saturday 23 July 2016

Driving time: 30 minutes

Route: just around the area

I went with my hostel friend Mathilde (from France) to Cathedral Cove, the famous Narnia film location! It was absolutely wonderful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
view of the Cove from the carpark
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
the beach at the Cove
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
famous photo stop
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
the Cathedral
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
goats in trees!!

Then we took the ferry to Whitianga, the nearest town, looking for something else to do. We found a couple of art galleries, and also ice cream!!

Then we took the ferry back to my rental car. A woman from Russia (I think her name was Alyona?) tagged along with us. She was looking for “the top of the hill” for some good views, but we had no idea which hill she meant, so we just took her with us to the Shakespeare Cliffs and a nearby lookout point.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Mathilde and Alyona at Lonely Bay
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
tidal pool life
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
trying to figure out what the orange blobs are
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Shakespeare Cliffs at Lonely Bay
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
viewpoint for Cooks Beach and Lonely Bay

Day 7

Date: Sunday 24 July 2016

Driving time: 3 hours

Route: Hahei to Auckland

Today I drove to Thames because Alyona told me it was a cool place, which it probably was but I didn’t stay long because I was feeling meh. So I just drove on to Auckland. I stayed in a little hostel that had inspirational quotes on the walls.

The next morning I picked up my family from the airport, and my week of solitude (at least while driving) was over.

*Thanks to Mathilde for photos with me in them

Leave a Reply

